Part 9: The Order of St. John of Jerusalem

The  significance of this symbol, the  8 pointed cross, known as the Cross of St. John, later known as the Maltese Cross is of interest.  It is said that each point represents one of the Beatitudes from the Sermon on the Mount, but  to the Order of St. John, the 8 Points of the Cross that they wore on their religious habit and appeared on the flag of the Order represented  8 obligations or aspirations (found to be very similar to the Beatitudes)

“live in truth;

have faith;

repent of sins;

give proof of humility;

love justice;

be merciful;

be sincere and whole-hearted; and endure persecution” 1

The 8 points also represented the 8 kingdoms from which the knights were drawn consequently,  8  languages or dialects were  spoken in the order.

This humble symbol of Christian faith, the 8 pointed Cross of St. John,  the sign of the Hospitallers was one of the principal banners  at the forefront of Christian soldiers and sailors in the Holy Land and Mediterranean Sea in their defense against Islamic expansion.

About leader

District Deputy Grand Master Saratoga-Warren District 1998-2000; Grand Lodge Leadership Services Committee; Leadership Development Course Coordinator; Vice Chairman Grand Master's Educational Task Force; Vice Chairman Grand Lodge Child ID Committee; District Deputy Grand High Priest 14th Capitular District; Grand Master of the 1st Veil 2010; Grand Master 2nd Veil 2011; Grand Master 3rd Veil 2012 Grand Royal Arch Captain 2013 Grand Principal Sojourner 2014 Grand Captain of the Host 2015 Warren County Historical Society Board of Trustees; Queensbury Masonic Historical Society Charter Member; State Chairman Lodges & Buildings Committee Deputy Grand Master's Advisory Committee
This entry was posted in History and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.